My ever growing obsession with Questbars

When I bought my first quest bar I had no sweet clue what they were for, the ingredients, when to eat them, etc.. It was in the mist of when I became obsessed with fitness and being “healthy” notice the brackets because looking back, I was no wheres near healthy. My instagram became full of these protein bars so I figured that they must be the best thing out there for fitness junkies. I remember the first one I bought which was White Chocolate Raspberry. Of course I ate it raw because I wasn’t yet informed of the amazing other ways to eat these glorious bars. This moment was the beginning of an expensive yet satisfying addiction. The taste was so good, and because they weer claimed “healthy” they tasted that much better.My paychecks stopped going towards things like clothes and shoes and all for my new found love; questbars! 

The negative side started when I became obsessed with protein and I wouldn’t eat other nutrition bars with less than 10 grams of protein. Yes, our bodies need this macro but it will be harmful if we eat too much! Especially fiber, these bars contain 19 grams of it! If you aren’t drinking enough water than you may experience bloating, gas and stomach issues. I know that personally whenever I consume a large amount of protein I am instantly bloated. 

I’ve tried quite a few of the flavors and definatly can’t say that I enjoy them all. If I had to rank the ones that I’ve tried from best to worst they would be as followed: 

1. White Chocolate Raspberry

2. Vanilla Almond Crunch

3. Cookies & Cream

4. Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

5. Chocolate Brownie

6. Coconut Cashew

7. Double Chocolate Chunk (I find this one too bitter for my liking)

8. Chocolate Peanut Butter

9. Banana Nut Muffin

10. Strawberry Cheesecake 

I’m still currently in love with them but I’ve realized that realistically it is not responsible for me to spend $35 on 12 bars when I really don’t necessarily need the nutrients in them. I eat them because I love them now, not because I need to get the extra protein in after a workout. I’ve been able to use my love for baking with them as well and have successfully created so many different goodies! 

 

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

4 thoughts on “My ever growing obsession with Questbars”

    1. I would recommend them! But before you try them be willing to spend a fair amount of money on them if you get addicted like I am haha!

Leave a Reply

