I’d better get a Nicki Minaj ass with all this bread and cheese.

Coming from a country where you are used to eating on the go fast food and never spending much time worrying about what particular flavour of food you are putting in your mouth and then coming here to france has been one hell of an experience let me tell you. The thing that gets me the most is how structured their eating patterns are throughout the day. In Canada we eat whenever we feel like it throughout the day where as here they have specific times when they are able to eat. I’m not going to say that It’s like that everywhere in France but with my host family this is how it has been.

Daily Meal Pattern – France

  • Petit Dejeneur
  • Dejeuner
  • Gouter
  • Diner

Daily Meal Pattern – Canada

  • Breakfast
  • Snack
  • Lunch
  • Snack
  • Dinner
  • Snack

I’m so used to just going to the fridge or cupboard for food and here I feel so awkward that I have to sneak it because they just don’t snack. They enjoy their meals and they aren’t done on the run either. I had a dinner the other night at the girls grandparents house which lasted 3 hours… 3 hours of sitting at the same table eating course upon course, and of course we polished off 4 bottles of wine. 

After 3 weeks of living here in France I think i’m starting to enjoy the food that is being put in front of me. I’m not obsessed with baguette and really don’t understand why in Canada we don’t eat them as often! Wine has become so easy and smooth to drink which may or may not be a good thing considering I am working as an au pair, but hey c’est la vie right? How can you pass up a 3 euro bottle of wine and the ability to get completely drunk off of it!  

 

 

 

 

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

One thought on “I’d better get a Nicki Minaj ass with all this bread and cheese.”

  1. Haha I’ve noticed the same thing since I became an au pair! The French family I’m working with takes hours to eat dinner every night, and it’s always courses. Definitely not the same in the US, and it really bothered me at first. But now that I’ve been here a while it’s starting to feel more normal.
    And don’t even get me started on baguettes haha Soooooo good!

Leave a Reply

