You only turn 21 once in paris

Imagine waking up in the city of love on your 21 birthday, walking downstairs to hear your host family singing happy birthday to you, making canadian pancakes with maple syrup and surprising you with a cashmere sweater.

wait, and this is all before 9am. I figured the day couldn’t get any better, boy was i ever wrong.

After our saturday morning ritual of going to the market and library as a family we set off for Paris to out for my birthday lunch which was chosen by my lovely host sister. She’s obsessed with Fontain de mars but I was pretty hesitant of the restaurant because i’m pretty picky when it comes to food, and just go for the typical easy choices and this place was hands down a classic french place. Apparently Barrack Obama ate there, so now it’s known by the tourists.

IMG_0373.JPG

IMG_0374.JPG

So its not even 2pm and i’m already feeling quite intoxicated but hey, when in paris right?

I walked for an hour, and when i say walked I really mean trekked it like a madwoman because I didn’t want to be late to meet mon copain. I hadn’t heard from him so I really had no idea if he was going to stand me up or be there at all but I figured i’d give him the benefit of the doubt. So, he was 30 minutes late, which really didn’t matter at all, just the fact that it was less time spent with him on his last night in Paris.

We ended up walking along the seine trying to find pet stores so we could pet the cute animals but I guess they moved the stores? My american tour guide seemed to a wee bit too much confidence on his directions. Oh, but wait who needs to pet dogs when you can have birds land on you!

The time came to meet my friends for my “birthday surprise!” I had literally no clue what they were planning just that I had to meet them at 5 by the Louvre. There in the middle of the park were my friends with 3 bottles of wine, picnic snacks and a Laurderee cake! I don’t know about you, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE picnics, especially at this park! I also waited until then to open my cards and presents form my family back home and was pleasantly surprised with 2 new pandora charms.

IMG_0377.JPG

IMG_0376.JPG

IMG_0372.JPG

Oh and the cake by the way; pistachio… my all time favourite flavour. You can say my friends are pretty awesome. So there I was on an all time high and then I get another unexpected surprise, this gal is going to DISNEYLAND PARIS with her 3 best friends.

After getting drunk for the second time before 6 pm we made a little pit stop to get changed and refreshen we’ll say before heading to Belushis for pre drinks. A couple rounds of ride the bus and rum and pineapples and we were on the road. Now this is where I start to lose recollection of what happened next, but you only turn 21 in Paris once right so you might as well do it right.

Couldn’t have asked for a better way to spend your birthday. Friends, wine, laughter and lots of kisses.

What’s better than spending the day and night with someone who makes you feel like your the only girl in the world that matters? I never thought it would be possible to have that feeling, and even though it’s been taken away I believe i’ll find it again. Who knows, maybe in japan.

How did you celebrate your 21st?

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

Leave a Reply

