Just Be You.

Everyone in Paris that I have met so far have all come from such diverse and foreign lives than what I had always known at home. The first thought when I’m surrounded by people of different lifestyles would be to try and find something we have in common to create a sense of comfort between us. I expected that it would be difficult to find a common ground but that was the complete opposite.

Is it possible for two people from completely different lifestyles to have such similar dreams and desires in life?

I have met some pretty amazing people even in the short time while I have been here. People who maybe in the beginning I felt almost intimidated by the life they come from and trying to compare it to my own. The great thing about when i’ve had these feelings of maybe not being up to their standards is that i’ve felt comfortable enough to talk to them about it. Talking and sharing my feelings is something that is a whole new concept to me. I grew up as a very closed off independent person. It may have to do with the fact I was an only child for 7 years of my life or that i’m a natural born leader, nevertheless I’ve been able to go through life satisfying my needs myself without the essential need of help.

I’ve already grown so much since being here mentally. I have a new outlook on trust and relationships in general and have learned that hey it’s okay to talk to people, they really don’t bite and you might actually take something from the conversation. How is it that a girl that comes from a village consisting of more cattle than people can somehow have a bond with a city born new yorker? To me, it seems so foreign and out of reach but let me tell you, it’s possible if you allow it be. Once I accepted that fact that people see me for me and who I am now, I’ve felt like a new person. I’m taking chances and hoping for the best because if I don’t than how will i ever have the opportunity to experience the best things in life if I’m stuck in a life of comfort?

Since being here I have met people that come from all different cultures over the world and it’s been the complete opposite experience getting to know them than I expected. When you think about it, as au pairs abroad we are all here for basically the same reason, to travel and learn about a new culture.
If you are an au pair here and expect to make money, you are in the wrong job line, sorry. Unless I’m just missing out on something because so far I’m farther behind financially than when I came here and this is while receiving a weekly pay. Do I Care?Could care less, i’m living life and having a great time while doing it.

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

2 thoughts on “Just Be You.”

  1. I’m so happy that you courageously accepted this life-changing opportunity. Your perspectives and priorities will never be the same. Enjoy every minute of this privileged time in your life, Lex!

Leave a Reply

