Don’t Skip the Museums in Paris

Flashback to a couple of months ago you would have heard me say “I have no interst in art or the history of paris, so why should i waste my money on museums”…. 

Boy was I ever wrong in saying that.

After four months of being abroad in Paris I am proud to announce that within the last 24 hours I have been to three museums and better yet, I enjoyed them! My host family was constatnly judgfing me on the fact that I had yet to expereince a museum while being here, so I finally bite the bullet and saw what they really had to offer.

Muse D’Orsay

The first one I went to was the Orsay located in the 7th arrondissement. Honestly, I had no idea what to expect when entering the building except the fact that it was well known and was a historical museum in Paris. Upon going through security I instantly knew that it was going to be an art museum and not so much focused on ancient history as I thought. I probably should have done a bit more research before just randomly choosing a museum, but I find the outcomes are always better when there are no specific plans.IMG_8102[1]

I now know that I am a HUGE fan of impression art which hung throughout the museum walls.

Musee du Luxembourg

The main reason that I went into this museum was because my host mother had proclaimed that the current exhibit was amazing. Let’s just say I was in and out within 30 mins, tops. I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect but I figured that it was bound to be good. I ended up having to pay 7.50 euros which was a bit much I thought considering it was only one exhibit and not a whole museum but nevertheless I did it.

 

Musee  de Quai Branly

One word; GO! This museum was incredible and filled with so many ancient artifacts from all over the world.  The museum features the works of art from Oceania, America, Africa and Asia. The best part though? The information regarding the artifacts are not only in french but in English too so I was able to understand everything without having to guess at the possibilities.

Whats crazy is the fact that the museum holds over 450 000 artifacts but only 3500 can be shown at a time. I can’t even imagine more history put into one building.

I was lucky enough that they still had their exhibit on Tattoos going on because it honestly blew me away. My thoughts of tattoos has changed completely after learning about the history and importance of body art.

After going to both an art museum and one focused more on history and artifacts I can honestly say that I’m by far more interested in history than art. That being said I now have a new found love and appreciation for art in general.

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

Leave a Reply

