God blessed you with a voice, now put it to use

How many times have you been in a situation at work where you know that the issue at hand could possible be solved if you had the guts to speak up about what is bothering you?

Raise Hand

Now think about the difference if you were to have a problem in the comfort of your home with your family members. A completely different story right.

Imagine living under the same roof as your boss, eating their food, and caring for their children. It makes for a sticky situation when problems occur. When I first started working for this family I wanted nothing more than to be their employee and the thought of daughter or sibling didn’t once cross my mind.

Reality hit me fast. The fact of the matter was that I wasn’t just working for this family but I was being accepted as a new member of their family. In the beginning it was tough, there’s no doubt about that. Like any new job there’s the fear of your superiors which made it difficult to feel comfortable in their household. As time has passed I have finally found a sense of balance between work and family within my situation because I choose to have a voice. I’m not someone to let problems solves themselves and always take a proactive approach whereas in this case means speaking.

Honesty. 

This is one of the most important things I’ve learned about relationships, healthy ones at least. Telling the truth may seem like sometimes a BAD idea, but it is always the best decision. When I wasn’t happy with the hours they had stated I spoke up and together we were able to find a common ground.

Confidence. 

Fear is normal to feel when we have to step outside of our comfort zone and do tasks that we may not feel 100% confident with. It’s important to keep a sense of confidence in any situation but essential when speaking with someone of higher power. Often the father will make remarks that would be considered “rude” or “offensive” in the Canadian culture but where I’m in France I have to be more open in every aspect.

Find common bonds.

When you’re able to bring a different interest into the workplace it instantly creates a sense of comfort. Once we were able to distinguish that we both enjoy cooking it was something the father and I were able to start talking about whenever the opportunity presented itself. The mother and I regularly will have the typical women chats about life, kids and love which I think is something that every woman needs.

There is now a very open and comfortable relationship between the family and I when it comes to speaking about issues that arise, which is important in theoretically any relationship that I’ve had. The point i’m trying to make is to use the voice that you were blessed with because you never know what may come from it.

Quotation-Laurie-Halse-Anderson-difference-yourself-Meetville-Quotes-36571

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

Leave a Reply

