“You’re just an au pair”

“You’re living the dream”

“You barely have to even work”

“You get to play with a kid all day, how hard is that”

“Don’t be lame, you can’t be tired from being an au pair”

My reaction?

irritated

I don’t know how many times I’ve head these phrases after telling someone about what I do for a job here in Paris. Trust me, it may seem like an “easy” job but think about being a parent, is that easy? I don’t think so. 

Don’t get me wrong, I love what i’m doing for the most part but there are times like any job where you just want to quit and run away, but thankfully kids seem to know exactly when to show their charm.

Today one of those days that really makes me appreciate what I actually do have here. It’s the 7th birthday of my girl  and since her mother is away on a business trip I really wanted to make it as special as I could. The day started with me getting a jumping hug and a bisous as soon as she came down the stairs. Thankfully I still remembered how to sing happy birthday in french and the father and I did a small celebration before school.

I surprised her with homemade donuts for gouter which she seemed pretty proud of I must admit.

Once we came back to the house we put on our aprons and got to work on chocolate cakes for her class party tomorrow. I must say, this was a moment that I will not forget. Being able to share your passion with someone else is an amazing feeling.

Memories like these are what I hope that she will remember when she’s a grown adult reflecting on her past.     

Published by

The Mindful Maritimer

I'm a 23 year old travel addict, health coach and thriving foodie! Follow my journey of overcoming my eating disorder while traveling the world!

3 thoughts on ““You’re just an au pair””

Leave a Reply

